Find Ancestors

Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

• The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Icons

• No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

Sheridan Maycock

ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date

Sheridan

Sheridan Report 12 May 2005 14:04

Im just beginning to research my cowan origins,james cowan,renton,scotland any advice would be appreciated.at the moment i feel overwhelmed by it all.did anyone else feel the same way?

Christine

Christine Report 4 Dec 2007 14:11

Just doing the same with my family "McQueen". My great grandfather married a Jessie B cowan in the latter half of 1800's. I have to find their birthdates and perhaps a marriage certificate and all seems daunting and expensive. I use "Family Search" site sometimes, it gives some details from census records free but not all have been added to the site yet. It is a Latter Day Saints web site but you do not have to register, just go straight into search family name.
I got side tracked and did some of my mums family, should have taken note of the guidence to only do one line at a time !! It is all very interesting though, have found my "McQueen" family were boot shoe and clog makers and that my mum's side came from Cork in Ireland.