Find Ancestors

Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

• The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Icons

• No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

Mary Polly Murphy

ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date

Kerry

Kerry Report 26 Dec 2007 18:23

I have been researching my family tree for 3 years, done so well so far til my aunt Maureen asked me to find her Grandmother Mary Murphy, she never met her and she remembered Mary had 2 sisters Sarah and Lou, Maureen told me her father Alfred never mentioned his mother Mary and he died when Maureen was 15 years old. She wanted to know more about her grandmother Mary. And Maureen said it was her aunt Sarah brought her father Alfred up and Sarah was married to a Russell and Maureen doesnt know why Sarah was the one who raised Alfred herself not Alfred's mother.

So I went to look for them for months, they all were born in Ireland.
Just last week one of my distant relatives' tip off about this Dublin census. I discoverd that Alfred was possibly adopted by Sarah Russell nee Murphy. Also discovered that Mary had 3 sisters, (not 2) and 1 brother. Maureen was shocked as she never knew Alfred was adopted and never knew anything about Ellen and Francis Henry (Mary's brother and sister). Sadly Mary Polly Murphy was no where found and we already knew tha Mary was married to a Thomas Carpenter, he was also nowhere to be found.