Genealogy Chat

Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

• The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Icons

• No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

Family mystery - where to go next??

ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date

Angela

Angela Report 27 Apr 2008 23:04

I'm pretty new to this so here's hoping someone can help me.
With the help of two other kind GR members, I've found that my great auntie Millicent/Milly Fitchett, born 1902, who married John Treeby in 1925, had a son Trevor Treeby in 1929 (registered in Lambeth, London Oct - Dec 1929). My mum has always been in contact with Milly's other two children born before 1929 (both now have died), however a third child has never been mentioned. I can't find any record of Trevor's death on free bmd between 1930 -1983 & one of the helpful GR folk has checked for a death registered beween 1984 - 2006, and there isn't one. He's also checked the 2002 & 2008 electoral rolls with no joy. At the time he was born Milly may not have been with John Treeby, so Trevor could have been adopted & changed his name. Her first son was born illegitimate and was brought up by his Aunt for five years. I did wonder if another member of the family took Trevor in, but can't find an obvious candidate. I suppose the other option is emigration. In any event it's a mystery and I don't know where to turn next. I'd appreciate any words of wisdom, many thanks

Sam