Genealogy Chat

Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

• The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Icons

• No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

how do i find more info

ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date

Linda

Linda Report 10 Aug 2008 15:38

hi, i am really new to this malarky :) i have found names of about 5 generations back, and have some info from census or marraige cert, like the odd address or occupation but how do you find out more ?? on teh TV programme 'who do you think you are' they are able to tell these celebs alot more than this.....where do i find the same kind of info i want to know more than just thier names.

hope someone has a bit of advice for this novice, who by the way is so addicted to this already, as if i didnt have enough to do already with my time i havent been to bed before 1.30am for 4 days .....not good :-)

linda

KathleenBell

KathleenBell Report 10 Aug 2008 15:46

The television programmes make it look far to easy to trace your ancestors and the details of their lives. After all, I expect they have lots of researchers spending months on the programmes.

If your ancestors had money or businesses I would think it might be easier to find out a lot more information.

If they were like my lot and mainy agricultural labourers there isn't too much you can find out about them.