Genealogy Chat

Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

• The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Icons

• No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

PLEASE!! HOW DO I FIND MORE INFORMATION!!

ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date

kidsnpets

kidsnpets Report 14 Aug 2008 15:09

hi, i am new to all of this only been doing it a week, (i am enjoying it even if my head is a whirl when i go to sleep with names and dates) had some great help finding stuff, but dont understand some of the techinical stuff yet. probably not the only one but no one likes to ask!
HOW DO I FIND FREEBMDS?
HOW DO I USE AND GET TO, AND WHAT ARE THE SCAN TO VIEW DETAILS I GET ON A REPLY.
WHAT AND WHERE IS THE VOLUME AND PAGE NO.
WHAT ISTHE RIGHT WAY TO REPLY TO AN ANSWER, been told a couple of different ways, not sure which is right.
if i post a question on trying to find, people can get back to me sometimes in 5 minutes, when i could of been looking ages.
how and where do i find this info so quick.
I go to search records and go through year by year and still cant always find stuff even when i know its the right date? example my dad died in oct 2002 i know where full name etc, but records show nothing then or following quarter.
are there any quicker ways to do it, or other places i should be looking.
looked at familysearch.org, cant seem to find anything there.