Genealogy Chat

Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

• The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Icons

• No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

In Laws????

ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date

doolittle

doolittle Report 8 Sep 2008 21:51

Have patience with me, I'm new to this!!!!
I'm struggling with the concept of the meaning of 'in-laws'. I've looked at several census' and I don't understand how some individuals can be in-laws. For example, I found one of my relatives who lived with his wife in the house where they were both described as in-laws to the head of the household, a male with the same surname. I hope I've explained that correctly!!
Were the census' always accurate in this respect.
Many thanks

Gwyn in Kent

Gwyn in Kent Report 8 Sep 2008 21:57

Sometimes 'in-laws' on census are what we call step sisters /step brothers / step children

If you'd like to give names of your folk, I'll take a look at that particular entry.

Gwyn

Thelma

Thelma Report 8 Sep 2008 21:59

In-law on the census also includes what we know today as STEP.

Madmeg

Madmeg Report 9 Sep 2008 00:54

WEll, friends, you might struggle with in-laws, but I have a half-cousin. What on earth is one of them!

I think I have managed the second cousin bit. It is a cousin of a cousin. A third cousin is a cousin of a cousin of a cousin. Not many of those in your tree.