Genealogy Chat

Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

• The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Icons

• No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

What do I do next?

ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date

Lesley

Lesley Report 15 Sep 2008 13:46

Hi there,

I'm very new to this and just pulled together my family tree over the weekend with help from grandparents. I have hit a bit of a wall at my g,g grandparents on both sides as I don't have dobs.

Any suggestions on what the next step would be? I managed to find what I think are one side's relations as they had an unusual name, the I have lots of Smiths and Cooks and the name is so popular it's difficult to narrow down.

Thanks in advance for any help out there!

Lesley

Karen

Karen Report 15 Sep 2008 14:01

You could guestimate when they were born based on g grandparents age etc, and try to narrow it down to a few years worth of bmd records to start with.
Do you know when they died?, death records will give you either an age or dob or the deceased.
Post up a little info on your gg grandparents, and let us take a look, may help to point you in the right direction.
Karen

Glen In Tinsel Knickers

Glen In Tinsel Knickers Report 15 Sep 2008 14:18