Genealogy Chat

Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

• The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Icons

• No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

finding living relative

ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date

Terence

Terence Report 22 Nov 2008 18:09

hi
has anyone got any tips for coming forward in a search to find living relatives. i am relying on an answer from GR members. i am very new to this and i am now stuck!!!!!!!!!

daddymuzza

daddymuzza Report 22 Nov 2008 18:39

Try www.facebook.com or www.192.com
although knowing what area to look in is a big help

Ann

Ann Report 22 Nov 2008 21:10

I found my cousin on Tracesmart, you have to buy credits but was really worth it. I was given her address and telephone number as well.

InspectorGreenPen

InspectorGreenPen Report 23 Nov 2008 21:01

The BBC's "Who Do You Think You Are" did some forward research for Jim Muir (Vic Reeves, for the uninitiated)

They did say at the time that it was extremely difficult, time consuming and had no guarantee of success.

A lot will depend on the amount of information you have already, how common the name is and whether you can pin down to a narrow location, etc,

What is your start point and who are you hoping to trace?

Sally

Sally Report 23 Nov 2008 21:56