Genealogy Chat

Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

• The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Icons

• No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

Maiden names

ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date

Peter

Peter Report 26 Jan 2009 10:45

Could someone clarify this for me - I'm new to this! I have found a late Aunt's marriage entry in the BMDs. In it her maiden/birth surname is quoted. I then traced her death cert and found that the info was submitted by her daughter. When I then found my Aunt's husband's death cert the daughter then described herself as a step daughter. Would I be correct in searching for my cousin using my Aunt's birth surname? There's not a chance that she was married previously and then reverted to her birth surname upon a second marriage? Sorry if this is boring the experts!
TIA
P

Heather

Heather Report 26 Jan 2009 10:48

Well ................If she was registered under the aunts birth surname it would mean she was illegitimate - if auntie married before then she would be registered under aunts first married name. BUT auntie should have used that name when she married for a second time.

The other possibility is that her husband had been married before but then I assume the daughter would have entered herself as step daughter on both death certs.

Janet 693215

Janet 693215 Report 26 Jan 2009 11:29