Genealogy Chat

Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

• The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Icons

• No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

Adoption

ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date

LizzieLou

LizzieLou Report 28 Jan 2009 13:43

Hi, this is my first attempt at finding out my real father's details! I was born May 25th 1969. My name on the Birth certificate was Elizabeth Ann Button. Registration in the Reading district. My father is not written. My name was changed to Elizibeth Ann Allen by my stepfather on 29th May 1974. Application number was ACR 076422 at the Henley Juvenile Court. How can I find out details of my real father? Please help I am 40 this year and I would love to know his details! Thanks

Kate

Kate Report 28 Jan 2009 15:28

Have you applied for your adoption file at all? It sounds as though your mother and your birth father were not married and/or he wasn't there at the birth registration as that is the case with my original birth details, I think. My mother's details are on but my father's are blank.

Presumably you can't ask your mother for whatever reason?

LizzieLou

LizzieLou Report 28 Jan 2009 19:13

Hi Kate, No I cannot ask my mother but I am thinking of asking her this year as a Birthday present!!!! I have not asked for my Adoption file. Do you think this might be the next step? Thanks for replying! LizzieX

Kate

Kate Report 28 Jan 2009 19:35