Genealogy Chat

Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

• The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Icons

• No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

Ordering certificates

ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date

Jennifer

Jennifer Report 26 Nov 2009 12:57

Hi there, I am very new to this game and have found some of my long gone family but keep coming to an end. I have now found my great grandmother and want to get her marriage lines so that I can find out who she married (only know her married surname, not her husbands christian name). Please can someone give me some guidance. I perhaps can us this info to solve other problems I am having. Many thanks in advance

Jill 2011 (aka Warrior Princess of Cilla!)

Jill 2011 (aka Warrior Princess of Cilla!) Report 26 Nov 2009 13:06

To order certs I use the General Register Office (GRO). You can order on line. It will cost £7 per cert. There are some sites out there that will charge you much much more so avoid those like the plague.

You will need the Volume and Page nos for the cert ref. Also the registration district, year and quarter.

FreeBMD should be able to give you all those details. Always check the actual image as mistakes do happen. Then, it should be fairly straightforward.

Make sure you have your proof on each generation as you work backwards - it is so easy to go wrong ...

Jill

Jill 2011 (aka Warrior Princess of Cilla!)