Genealogy Chat

Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

• The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Icons

• No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

Island Cottage, Post Street, Godmanchester, Huntin

ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date

Hilary

Hilary Report 1 Aug 2010 22:36

Hi

I have no experience of researching properties and I am trying to find out whether I can trace the homes of several of my ancestors who lived in Godmanchester at the turn of the 1800s. Please could someone advise what type of records one could expect to find if any regarding details of the early occupants of Island Cottage prior to 1841? Would (for example) there be a some sort of ground rent record?

Thank you
Hilary

Hilary

Hilary Report 2 Aug 2010 13:15

Hi Deb

Yes, I did exactly the same as you, the cottage is lovely, isn't it?!

If anyone can give me some advice about what records might be available to discover who the occupants were in the early 1800s , I'd be very grateful.

Thank you
Hilary

Jill 2011 (aka Warrior Princess of Cilla!)

Jill 2011 (aka Warrior Princess of Cilla!) Report 2 Aug 2010 13:17

The library or Record Office local to the cottage should be able to give you an idea of what sort of records they hold. So would be worth contacting them to see.

Jill

Potty

Potty Report 2 Aug 2010 13:19