Genealogy Chat

Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

• The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Icons

• No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

help with gedcom files

ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date

vanessa

vanessa Report 14 Mar 2012 02:12

hi everyone
i am not very good with computers.. may I have some help please.
i have a legacy tree.
yesterday I uploaded it to ancestry (with only a little hlep from OH).

Now i have made some changes on my leagcy tree and also on my tree on ancestry (added citations etc when the little leaves pop up).
if I upload my tree from legacy again (as I have found a whole new branch), will it override the ancestry tree or will I get 2 trees with essentially the same informtaion.

do most poeple only keep one tree going? ie should I ditch my Legacy tree and just use ancestry? but then I have to maintin a subscription...

vanessa :-)

InspectorGreenPen

InspectorGreenPen Report 14 Mar 2012 06:34

It depends on the site.

If you upload to Ancestry you create a new tree. Personally when I do this I delete my old one after verifying that the new one has loaded correctly, but it is entirely up to you.

However, if you upload a new tree to GR, then your old one is automatically replaced / overwritten as currently, GR only allows one tree per membership.