Genealogy Chat

Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

• The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Icons

• No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

mistakes on transcripts

ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date

Tracy

Tracy Report 9 Aug 2012 09:58

I have been researching my family tree for a few years now and I sometimes find that there is a blatent spelling mistake when info has been transcriped.

Is there anyway of reporting these mistakes or doing some transcribing to help??

I have just started doing the same on family search/LDS

tracy

John

John Report 9 Aug 2012 10:13

You can see how easy it is to make a spelling mistake - blatent!

Tracy

Tracy Report 9 Aug 2012 10:15

ha ha it is indeed
you missed the other one though!!

;-))

Porkie_Pie

Porkie_Pie Report 9 Aug 2012 10:35

transcriped :-D

Roy

RolloTheRed

RolloTheRed Report 9 Aug 2012 10:53

Ancestry allows members to add comments to records of all kinds inc census, BMD, public trees. These comments & corrections are visible to other members. However although (eventually) updates due to errors in the census image OR transcription may added to the index the original record is rarely changed.

FreeBMD have two methods.
(a) a postem where you can add whatever you like ; this is not checked
(b) add a a correction