Genealogy Chat

Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

• The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Icons

• No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

What does 'Do' or 'do' mean?

ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date

David

David Report 28 Nov 2013 11:48

Hi Everyone. I am new to the world of Genealogy so I would like to ask what may be a simple question but non of the searches I have made have provided an answer. Whilst searching my ancestors, on peoples birth or other certificates it very often has the letters/word 'Do' or 'do' in various columns, i.e.; Name and Surname: (Henry do), Relation to Head of Family: (do), Employer, Worker: (do), etc. Can anybody explain what this signifies?
What a wonderful world this Genealogy is. As I have stated I am totally new to this and just reading the records of people past, their lives, their trades and professions are just fascinating, all the butchers, bakers and candlestick makers as they say and non of the same endless boring professions of today.
Hope somebody can help.
Regards. David Robinson.

GlitterBaby

GlitterBaby Report 28 Nov 2013 11:51

My first thought was "ditto" but without seeing the cert I can not be certain

Shirley~I,m getting the hang of it

Shirley~I,m getting the hang of it Report 28 Nov 2013 11:52

It usually means ditto

MargaretM

MargaretM Report 28 Nov 2013 11:53

Do is ditto meaning the same as the line above. e.g.