Genealogy Chat

Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

• The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Icons

• No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

Storing Data

ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date

***Flossy

***Flossy Report 8 Apr 2005 15:50

What type of 'form' do you use to store data? Im fairly new to this and am unsure of the best way to record everything I find.

Heather

Heather Report 8 Apr 2005 15:59

I think most of us keep info on a family tree program like Familytreemaker 2005.

☼ Orangeblossom ☼ - Tracy

☼ Orangeblossom ☼ - Tracy Report 8 Apr 2005 16:00

I have a family tree program on my computer where I store all the names, and their relevant branches. I also have a few folders where I keep all the census details, BMD details and such. I have also put my tree on here, and some other genalogical web sites.

Anne

Anne Report 8 Apr 2005 16:05

There's some downloadable forms on the home page of this site. They are quite useful as well as a good Family Tree programme. I also have a folder for all the bits of paper I accumulate. I have one for each main family branch. The trouble is they inevitably overlap and I have trouble deciding which folder to put them in when they marry!! I know you should keep the woman's maiden name but sometimes it just doesn't seem the right place. Anne

Julie

Julie Report 8 Apr 2005 16:06