Genealogy Chat

Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

• The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Icons

• No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

Information pre 1837

ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date

Kathryn

Kathryn Report 20 Feb 2005 12:33

Dear all, I'm pretty new at genealogy, so please bear with me. I've managed to trace my great great grandfather back to an 1805 birthdate (via ancestry.co.uk), however, where do I go from here? I've heard of people tracing their ancestors back to the 14 15 century at least. How did they do it? Any insights would be most appreciated!

Paula

Paula Report 20 Feb 2005 12:35

I haven't done much myself but i think most of the pre 1837 stuff is found via parish records. Theres not much of this on the net, there is some on the IGI (LDS site) but thats not always reliable. The parish records for most areas are stored at microfische at the county records office Paula

kim

kim Report 20 Feb 2005 12:40

have you got a name for him or place maybe some one can send you in right area, as some parish records are on line

Heather

Heather Report 20 Feb 2005 12:58