Genealogy Chat

Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

• The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Icons

• No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

Tracing people

ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date

Heidi

Heidi Report 9 Jan 2005 23:03

I'm new to all of this and I've been wondering, do I have to keep buying birth and marriage certificates to trace people? Are there cheaper ways of tracing people - otherwise this is going to be a very expensive hobby!

Juliana

Juliana Report 9 Jan 2005 23:06

No -there are a few sites that hold a lot of info ancestry (.) co (.) uk freebmd freepages family search org 1837 online and also asking for help from other genes members has proved a great success as people are really helpful. Good luck with all of your searches, Juliana x

CATHKIN

CATHKIN Report 9 Jan 2005 23:07

It depends where your relatives lived and everyone on here is very helpful so fire away with a question. Rosalyn

Unknown

Unknown Report 9 Jan 2005 23:16

Heidi www.familysearch.org does have a lot of records, but they do need to be checked with the original parish registers. You can look free on the 1881 census on that website as well, which will group families and give approximate dates as well as places of birth. nell

Guinevere

Guinevere Report 10 Jan 2005 06:49