Genealogy Chat

Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

• The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Icons

• No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

HOW DO I GO ABOUT.......

ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date

Sarah

Sarah Report 25 Nov 2004 14:34

viewing birth and death cert. without having to pay? Do i need to know where that person was born or died? I am new to this so not sure what i should be doing. Any sites would be good.

Cali

Cali Report 25 Nov 2004 14:35

You can't view the actual certificates without paying - only the entries in the index. If you want to see the contents of the certificate you have to order a copy from the GRO

Unknown

Unknown Report 25 Nov 2004 22:03

Sarah You can't see certificates without paying. In order to see the info on the cert you have to buy it. Scottish certs can be seen online, but there's still a charge. As you are new, I suggest that you go to the homepage on this website and scroll down until you find Genealogy Resources. Click on Getting Started and read the bit on civil registration. Please ask if you have more queries. nell

Cali

Cali Report 26 Nov 2004 11:24

I got a mail from 'Georgina' from the Birmingham area who said she is able to view birth and marriage certificates from the local area at Birmingham Central Library for no charge I'd not heard of this before - Can anyone confirm or deny this??

Judith