Genealogy Chat

Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

• The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Icons

• No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

Completly stuck!!

ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date

Joanna

Joanna Report 15 Nov 2004 19:26

Im new to this and have only been working on my tree for about a week. I now have the First name of my gggg Grand father. Would any one give me some info on how to find out more about him. I have a copy of his sons marrage cert from 1881 which it looks like he was a witness, The other witness has the same surname Could be is wife or sister. Thanks to any one who can give me some info. James Kevany

Heidi

Heidi Report 15 Nov 2004 19:38

before i search.....where were they married and where was your ggggf born?...and was james his name?

Joanna

Joanna Report 15 Nov 2004 19:50

Hi. My gggg f i belive was born in southampton and his name was George Gibbs. My ggg f Was called Harry James Gibbs. He was born in 1858. He got married inCarlton Baptist Chapel, Southampton on 31/07/1881 to a Mary Cannon. The other name that appears on the Marrage cert is Bertha Gibbs. Thanks James

Crista

Crista Report 15 Nov 2004 20:42