Genealogy Chat

Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

• The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Icons

• No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

Any ideas?

ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date

Amanda

Amanda Report 14 Nov 2004 18:28

Hi I'm very new to this! I've got back to my gggrandfather in Oldham ..Joseph Taylor b.1841 and married to Ann Holland 16/6/1859. I need to find Josephs parents and can't find info anywhere. Just wondering if anyone has any tips before I order his birth certificate...or is that the only way I can find out? thanks in advance Mandy

KathleenBell

KathleenBell Report 14 Nov 2004 18:48

You seem to know the exact date of his marriage - Does this mean that you have his marriage certificate. If so that should give his fathers name. I think the birth certificate is your best bet for both parents names. Kath. x

Helen

Helen Report 14 Nov 2004 18:50

If you order Joseph and Ann's marriage certificate it will give you both of their father's names and occupations. Is the marriage the one at Manchester Cathedral on IGI? I wasn't sure with you saying Oldham but the date matched.

Amanda

Amanda Report 14 Nov 2004 18:57

I haven't got a marriage certificate...a friend who pays for access somewhere found the details!!!.no parents details listed...yes it was at Manchester Cathedral....Oldham is now part of greater manchester so I guess its not far away Mandy