Genealogy Chat

Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

• The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Icons

• No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

Records on CD

ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date

Angela

Angela Report 9 Sep 2004 13:44

I am new to the family tree research and I am thinking of buying the parish records CD's as the two parishes are quite a distance. Has anyone got any advice on these, pros and cons. Thanks Angie

Carol

Carol Report 9 Sep 2004 13:47

Depends who they are produced by. Also you need to check the sources because some have jumped on the bandwagon to make money and dont give a hoot about accuracy. I have come across some that are pure fiction. Some are indexed, and some are not. Same with censuses, I just bought 2 1841 and there are lots of images but no index. Have you tried ordering the films from you LDS family history centre.

BobClayton

BobClayton Report 9 Sep 2004 14:14

Angie a few on here have bought them. I got mine from http://www.twrcomputing*co.uk/ It's ok (west riding and notts) and seachable but far from complete many parishes are not covered at all. Check the web sites for coverage. Bob

Phoenix

Phoenix Report 9 Sep 2004 14:26