Genealogy Chat

Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

• The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Icons

• No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

What do I do next!?! Pls help

ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date

Kerry

Kerry Report 11 May 2004 16:33

I've just started researching my late fathers family and I'm very new to all this stuff! I have got my father's birth certificate to obtain the names of my grandparents but what do I do now? How do I found out where they were born/married etc? Please help - I'm hopeless!

Heather

Heather Report 11 May 2004 16:40

I think you will probably need to search for your grandparent's marriage on the 1837 site. Do you have any idea of the date or place? Heather

Smiley

Smiley Report 11 May 2004 16:40

What years were your grandparents born Kerry? That would have a bearing on what sites would be more useful to you, there is far more info online pre 1900 , than there is post 1901. It may even be necessary to have their birth certificates too, this is where it can be a pricey hobby.

Christine2

Christine2 Report 11 May 2004 16:51

If you could tell us some dates, names etc, I'm sure someone would help to start you off. I would, but I'm just off to colour my hair. Will check back later - unless you would like to e-mail me. Chris

Kerry

Kerry Report 12 May 2004 14:17