Genealogy Chat

Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

• The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Icons

• No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

Don't know where to look next!

ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date

Rachael

Rachael Report 1 Feb 2004 04:27

Hi, I am very new to this and was hoping that people may have some advise on where I should look next. I am looking to locate the birth records of my Great Grandmother who was born in England around 1890. She married my Great Grandfather during the war and moved to Australia with him in 1919. I have obtained both her death Certificate from here in Australia as well as the Marriage certificate from the UK. The problem I face is that there appears to be conflicting information on the certificates. Firstly her age of death & Marriage leads me to different years of Birth. Her Death certificate claims she was married twice and doesn't give any information on her family, although it does list her first Husband, although I am not convinced that she was ever married a first time as hours of trawling through 1837BDM records has found no records for a first marriage. What is throwing me is that I cannot find a birth index for her name around the years that I think she was born. Her name according to her marriage certificate was Kathleen Margaret Francis Gilbey, Father: William Gilbey, I have searched for records spelt as Gilbey & Gilby to