Genealogy Chat

Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

• The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Icons

• No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

New to this - how can I go about establishing I

ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date

Simon

Simon Report 29 Jan 2004 15:29

Apologies in advance for the long message ! <p> I'm just starting out with Genalogy and, whilst things on my grandfather's side seem to be coming along well, I'm sort of stuck when it comes to my Grandmother's parents. <p> I know, from her birth cert that her parents were Sidney Frank Barnard and Lily Emily Quantrill. I'm also pretty sure that, although the family eventually moved to Norfolk, there are connections in Lincolnshire (Gedney in particular) which I initially thought was just on Lily's side, but could well have been the case with Sidney as well. <p> My grandmother was born in 1927 with her oldest and youngest siblings born roughly 10 years either side of that. (My mother can remember seeing photos of Sidney giving my grandmother's youngest sister away - which would have been in the 50's - and he wasn't really really old, so have to assume he was pretty young when he and Lily had their first child in 1917 ish). <p> Now, after all that background : <p> Given that I haven't got a huge amount of detail to go on, what are some of the best options to try to pin this pair down ? There is an outside chance that