Genealogy Chat

Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

• The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Icons

• No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

Have I done enough?

ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date

Andy

Andy Report 28 Jan 2004 16:24

see below

Andy

Andy Report 28 Jan 2004 16:26

Hi to all of you, I'm studying my father's ancestors and there are big families with lots of common surnames, even some of the not so obvious surnames are common in these parts. This is why I'm just after some advice to make sure I'm not overlooking anything as I try to tie all my information together. My great-grandfather, Thomas COOK married Mary PORRITT in 1863 in Whitby. Thomas is shown as being aged 21 and Mary, 25. Mary's father is listed as Thomas PORRITT, a farmer. On the 1871 census, the couple are living in Loftus and Mary's birth place is shown as Moorsholm, which is a small village on the edge of the North York Moors. On both the IGI and in local parish records, I've found a baptism record for Mary in 1836 (this doesn't quite match up with her ages on subsequent certs and censuses). The parish records go further than the IGI and state Mary as the daughter of Thomas & Ruth PORRITT of Moorsholm. On the IGI also, I've found a marriage for Thomas PORRITT and Ruth FAWCETT in 1828. On Mary's marriage cert in 1863, one of the marriage witnesses is a William FAWCETT. I'm probably puzzling over