Genealogy Chat

Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

• The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Icons

• No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

PC V iMac

ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date

Debi Coone

Debi Coone Report 30 Nov 2003 21:15

Is there anyone out there who doesn't use a PC but works on an iMac? I'm new to genealogy and know there is tons and tons of software for the hobby but is any of it Mac compatable? Same q for the cd roms for census too are they Mac compatable too? Thanks in advance for any tips ( other than go and buy a PC lol ) Much Happiness Debi

Zoe

Zoe Report 2 Dec 2003 14:24

debi, i do all of my research at work where I have a mac. the few cds I have bought use pdf files, which is downloadable free (or usually they have it on the cd itself) and is totally compatible with mac. The cds you get free with Your family Tree magazine do feature mac compatible software, but I am always disappointed that the ones that look most useful or are free are only available for PC. the other things I can't do on a mac are use 1837 online (tho I think this may be that my firewall won't let me download the viewer) and the census decoder. I've also yet to find a worthwhile programme to build my family tree offsite from genes connectd that you don't first need to build on a pc before you can view and make alterations on the Mac. Zoe

Linda

Linda Report 2 Dec 2003 18:00