Genealogy Chat

Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

• The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Icons

• No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

Finding great grandparents' children

ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date

Aileen

Aileen Report 22 Oct 2003 09:43

I am VERY new to geneaology so your help would be appreciated please. How can I find my great grandparents' children apart from looking at the online census? Are there any other records available? Many thanks in anticipation!!

Janet

Janet Report 22 Oct 2003 09:54

Aileen Can you give some idea of the period we are talking about? For example, your grandparents' approximate dates of birth? Janet

Margaret

Margaret Report 22 Oct 2003 09:55

Aileen Are they likely to be on the IGI site? www(.)familysearch(.)org If they are, you can do a parent search. Where is says father's name put the man's first and last name. For the mother just put the first name, as maiden names are very rarely in the register. Put in the country and county etc, or the batch number is even better http://freepages(.)genealogy(.)rootsweb(.)com/~hughwallis/IGIBatchNumbers(.)htm#Menu That will tell you all of the children who had parents of that name in that area. Of course if they are common names you will have to put a bit of logic to it, dates etc. Margaret

Aileen

Aileen Report 22 Oct 2003 10:11