Genealogy Chat

Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

• The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Icons

• No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

Connecting branches on genes connected

ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date

Janice

Janice Report 14 Aug 2003 10:51

Hi, I'm new to this. Would appreciate some advice. Is it possible to link family lines, I have relatives who are distant cousins, so they need to be linked back to the common ancestor, and I don't know how to do this? Janice

Maxine

Maxine Report 14 Aug 2003 11:05

Hi Janice I am afraid there is no easy way to do this. You need to build your tree up from yourself, until you come to the common ancestor, nad then build it back down from that common ancestor (presumably the parent of 2 siblings that you are both descended from), down the other line to you distant cousin. If you don't know the common ancestor, then you have a problem! Regards Maxine

Janice

Janice Report 14 Aug 2003 11:14

So that means that each person will be listed twice? Janice.

Michael

Michael Report 14 Aug 2003 13:01

Janice The simplest way is to do it in another peice of software. These tend to have the facility to link different branches when found. Then delete the tree in GC and then replace it with the new one. I am in the process of doing exactly that at the moment. Mike

Vera

Vera Report 14 Aug 2003 14:17