Genealogy Chat

Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

• The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Icons

• No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

1st Time Researcher

ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date

Douglas

Douglas Report 3 Aug 2003 20:18

I've never done this sort of thing before and I don't know a great deal about my own family beyond my mum and dad. How do you go about finding out further up the tree?

George

George Report 3 Aug 2003 20:29

Here are my tips Ask your parents and grandparents what they remember? Gather any certificates and photos which your family possess, let your relatives know what you are doing, then consult the online 1901 & 1881 censuses. George

Mystified

Mystified Report 4 Aug 2003 08:13