Genealogy Chat

Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

• The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Icons

• No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

Another ag labs question

ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date

*Sharm

*Sharm Report 24 Sep 2007 11:19

Hello one of my gggreatgrandfathers was a printer by trade acc to census and on his sons marriage cert, up untill the last 20 years of his life then he changes jobs to be an Ag Lab.
now this may not sound like anything, but this was right in the heart of Burnley, lancs not in the outlying villages, and is the only ag lab in my family, burnley wasnt known for its agriculture and still isnt but back then it was heavily involved in the cotton industry
now i wonder why the change of job anyone throw any light on it?
Thanks
Sharmala.

*Sharm

*Sharm Report 24 Sep 2007 12:58

sorry not to reply earlier had to nip out
yes its def the same person had to keep checking myself but its def him, seems really odd though as ag lab is not really heard of around here, unless he travelled out of town.

Elisabeth

Elisabeth Report 24 Sep 2007 13:35

I sometimes wonder if it could be a mistake made by the enumerator when a sudden change of occupation is listed.