Genealogy Chat

Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

• The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Icons

• No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

Can Anyone Help Me?

ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date

Lilys_Mommy

Lilys_Mommy Report 1 Jan 2008 20:08

I'm a total newbie to this, so apologies if I am doing something really stupid from the offset!

Could anyone help me - I very recently started to research my family tree and I have hit an instant brickwall concerning my paternal grandmother. Her birth name was Edith Hird (and I always believed she was born in Sheffield on 12/2/1907 - but nothing to confirm this). She was subsequently adopted (in Sheffield - no dates) and then known as Barlow. She married (in 1928 in Sheffield) to Charles Roebuck (the marriage was registered in Q2 1928 and she is refered to as "Edith Barlow or Hird" - I have located the index for this). She died in 1979 in Sheffield (which was registered in the 2nd quarter and the index confirms her date of birth as 12/2/1907). However... I am unable to locate any record of her birth (despite the reference to her DOB on her Death registration index). Can anyone help me with this one as I'm not sure what to do next (apart from give up and move onto research another grandparent!) Thanks in advance for any help - would be much appreciated. Karen

Porkie_Pie

Porkie_Pie Report 1 Jan 2008 20:14