General Chat

Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

• The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Icons

• No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

Fifty Years Ago Today

ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date

Sharron

Sharron Report 9 Sep 2014 18:13

I started at grammar school.

SylviaInCanada

SylviaInCanada Report 9 Sep 2014 20:19

:-D :-D

50 years ago last May ..................... I graduated from university

and then had to try to find a job

I was out of work for 6 months :-(

the kind of job I wanted to do (genetics counselling) was so new that there were no jobs that did not require a medical degree as well as one in genetics

I had to change my mind about what I did and did not want to do .......................

and started work as a school teacher 50 years ago next January :-)

I never wanted to teach ................. but I've since been told that I was good at it

................. getting an message through Friends Reunited from an ex-student about 10 years ago saying that I was the best teacher she'd ever had was a real uplifting moment for me :-)

AnnCardiff

AnnCardiff Report 9 Sep 2014 20:25

67 years ago I started grammar school and hated it from day one right through to the end

maggiewinchester

maggiewinchester Report 9 Sep 2014 21:15

47 years ago, I too started Grammar School :-D

18 years ago (plus a month) I started University :-D